City of Phoenix

City of Phoenix was one of the first cities in the nation to adopt the council-manager form of government in 1913 through a public vote approving a new City Charter. Phoenix is also the largest city in the country with the council-manager form of government. Throughout its rapid growth, the City has had a long history of political and organizational stability, with three City Managers during the last 25 years. The City Manager is responsible for managing municipal operations which consist of a $3.5 billion budget and more than 14,500 employees. Phoenix operates on a July 1 – June 30 fiscal year. The City Council of the City of Phoenix consists of a Mayor elected at-large to a four-year term and eight Council Members elected by districts to four-year overlapping terms. The Mayor may serve two four-year terms, and Council Members may serve three consecutive four-year terms. City leaders are expected to be decision makers, problem solvers and innovators with strong interpersonal and communication skills. They are expected to be visionary, committed to high ethical standards, and should be passionate about making a difference.